Skip to content

Things I am craving

April 12, 2012
tags:

But that I can’t find in London. Blarg!

1. Dill Pickles.  Proper garlicky, dilly, vinegar-y pickles. With no sweetness/sugar in them. The kind served beside sandwiches in deli’s in North America. Apparently they do not exist here. And even though Beans and my husband are enjoying gobbling up  all the jars I keep buying and rejecting, I find my craving intensifying every minute. I may break down and try to make my own soon.

2. Yves brand Veggie Hot Dogs. I know there are other brands of hot dogs here. But I don’t want them. I want the one’s I ate growing up. It’s cruel to deny a pregnant woman this simple wish.

3. Perogies.  The frozen, quick meal kind. I also know I can make some myself. But I think what I’m really craving is that overly processed, mildly unhealthy taste to them. If I made them myself, I’d end up using whole wheat flour instead of white, and probably leave the cheese out all together. I’m not saying they won’t be delicious, but  they won’t be the same. Also I think what I’m really after here is a quick, no-fuss meal and making them myself is a anything but. It would also involve a lot of dishes and time and I’d rather just pull a bag out of the freezer and call it a day. And how good are these with sour cream and caramalized onions. My mouth is watering.

4. Smoked Tofu. I’ve heard a rumour there are places in London that sell more than just firm tofu, even though that’s all I’ve found so far. (It’s true folks, no extra-firm, tofu, which was what I used most back in Canada). I will be packing up the Beans and dragging her around the city soon in search of different tofu. Especially since I think she misses smoked tofu too. Because it is amazing.

5. Bagels. In Victoria we lived a block and a half away from a bagel shop. So we often stopped on our way home from walking the dog to pick up fresh, still warm, bagels on a regular basis. These Montreal style bagels put all  grocery-store bagels to shame. So much that I can’t eat them. I really just want a nice Everything Bagel smeared with Tofutti cream cheese. Am I asking too much?

On a slight tangent, if you ever do find yourself in Victoria go get yourself some of the bagels at Mount Royal Bagel Co. and then walk around the block to the Fernwood Coffee Co. That coffee place ruined all other coffee for me, I didn’t even mind giving it up this pregnancy, since I’ve yet to find any coffee even half as good as theirs.  So if anyone knows of any good independent coffee shops that roast their own beans in London, please let me know. I will travel great distances for a decent cup of brew (at least I will in approximately 6 months when I let myself drink coffee again).

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2012 1:21 pm

    oh I’ve had smoked tofu, though not for ages – I’ll try and remember where I got it!

    • April 12, 2012 4:48 pm

      Thanks Jo. I would appreciate it. I have heard a rumour that Whole Foods in Kensington has some, but somewhere closer would be preferable. Ocado also carries some sort of Smoked Tofu too, but it has seasame seeds and almonds in it, and not quite what I’m looking for.

      • Jo C. permalink
        April 20, 2012 2:39 pm

        There is a Whole Foods in Clapham Junction – I’ll drag your husband along there one lunchtime and inspect their range of tofu!

  2. Jan permalink
    April 12, 2012 4:38 pm

    Ha, Tessa we bought smoked tofu by accident last week; it completely weirded me out! How do you cook it? In the context of “I want a chinese stirfry” it tasted oddly reminiscent of hot dogs…

    • April 12, 2012 4:52 pm

      Hmmm. We used to just eat it chopped up in sandwiches and wraps mostly, so uncooked. But I also have a recipe for stir fry in my inbox right now, so I can forward that too you as well. Mostly I think you cook it like you would other tofu, except no need to drain/press it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

